This image is the top of the content box. Unfortunately, there is no information-based reason for this div to be here. It's just here for design reasons. Sorry.
Go Back   MisticRiver :: For iriver Enthusiasts > MisticRiver.net Site Related > News Article Topics > News/Rumours
Home Forums Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Welcome to the misticriver forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 4th, 2005, 06:46 AM
Newbie Floating Down The Mistic River
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Cheap Irivers on Ebay

Have been looking on Ebay for a potential replacement/spares Iriver H140 and if you check the worldwide option you can find a large amount of Irivers going extremely cheap (about £50 GBP with £25 pound postage).

These have all been put up for sale from China by people with no feedback who will not accept PayPal.

Sounds extremely dodgy to me but i was wondering if anyone had successfully bought from one of these suppliers.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 4th, 2005, 06:54 AM
mixin's Avatar
mixin2.com
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,324
I wouldn't ever consider giving that much money to some one with no positive feedback.
If it sounds too good to be true... it always is.
__________________
Fantasy F1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 4th, 2005, 08:14 AM
Hoping For A Cool Title
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Savannah,GA
Posts: 83
Oddball, if it were me I wouldn't chance it. At the very least I would do some SERIOUS digging first. I don't use ebay like I used to since the whole point of it has changed. It used to be like going to a garage sale where you could find great bargins. Now it's basically an online store. But back to the point if you use the search function here you will see multiple post from people who did jump at the bait and got burned for it. In the end it's your money and your choice. Just make an informed choice.
__________________
Why do you speak ill of the voices in my head when you know they will kill you for it???
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 4th, 2005, 08:46 AM
Newbie Floating Down The Mistic River
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Cheers, thats what i figured really.

Totally agree with you about Ebay. Went on looking for a second hand player i could buy cheap (not necessarily an Iriver) but as you say it is now just people selling new stuff from their online stores.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 4th, 2005, 09:02 AM
Viper Mad
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Greentown, Ohio, USA
Posts: 474
Here is an interesting site about ebay scams similar to the cheap mp3 players.
http://ming.tv/flemming2.php/__show_...ime=1091596186
Bob
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 6th, 2005, 06:21 PM
Newbie Floating Down The Mistic River
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12
Dodgy

They're all dodgy. Looked at them before. It's a ring of 'users' trying to scam people. All the feedback is manufactured. Stands out like dogs balls.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 6th, 2005, 07:05 PM
Born Again Mistic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,918
SCAM, SCAM, SCAM

It's obvious because of the low prices. And come on, no paypal, and from another country. Who wouldn't read through the lines.

SCAM, SCAM, SCAM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 11th, 2005, 12:28 AM
Eager Mistic Beaver
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
i actually love ebay stores
my cuzzin bought an Rc choper from a closing down sale in perth for 250 dollars
they usually retail for 400
i bought the exact sam model with all accesories from an ebay store on thursday for 140 including postage and handling
im still awaiting arrival but it was from sydney so i should get it tuesday
but yes there are alot of scams on ebay
and whats worse is that its only the people that dont know mich about ebay that get caught
they just rush in and buy stuf
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 19th, 2005, 02:45 PM
Newbie Floating Down The Mistic River
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to sobek
funny thing i noticed about these sellers...the buyers are all "no longer registered members" with low scores, buying cheap products.
definately a scam...wouldnt even wana waste my money giving it a try.
ive seen others from places like germany..guess thats a scam seller too
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 10th, 2005, 05:26 AM
Newbie Floating Down The Mistic River
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
yup another one!

Hi guys,
just bought a H10 20gb from the States (outletmp3) on Ebay (I'm from Australia) Hopefully it was a wise purchase, especially after reading through these forums! I had found an Iriver Silver 20gb H10 for AU$180.00. After some digging i found that the seller was based in China and wouldnt accept Palpay. I had offered to buy it however i wasnt going to pay until i had some feedback or the like etc. After two days of no contact, i had another Ebay member contact me and tell me it was a scam. Then i received an email from Ebay themselves notifying me that the account had been hijacked and not to pay for the goods. So the moral of the story is.... If its too good to be true, it probably is! I ended up buying mine from a reputable online store and should be recieving it in the next few days. Hope this helps someone out.
Regards,
Geoff

Last edited by warlock : December 10th, 2005 at 06:14 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 10th, 2005, 07:44 AM
Born Again Mistic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,328
I've recently also reported on these scam players, and reported them to eBay which is why the auctions have been pulled.

First obvious sign of a scam sale is the price looks too good to be true, secondly the seller has good feedback but no previous sales of high priced electronic items and all the items they listed are at the same price, thirdly the only ways to pay have no insurance (bidpay/bank transfer/western union/cash in the mail) and also the hijacked accounts recently have had an email address in them that ends in @163.com and @126.com which are freebie email addresses from servers based in China.
__________________
...constantly in a state of trance...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 10th, 2005, 08:49 AM
I Need Help!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Teesside, UK
Posts: 0
Just to enlighten ebay is about to start pulling the western union option of payment so will kill off a number of part time scammers hopefully, but there will always be people who want a player badly and ignore the warnings.

I think I may just refresh a few of my guides in a few days to discuss this issue some more.

A
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 15th, 2005, 08:48 AM
Newbie Floating Down The Mistic River
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
I saw an auction like this not long ago from a seller in Germany and the item location was in China! He had very good feedback but he hadnt sold an item in months and suddenly he was selling Ipods and Irivers dirt cheap! BE WARNED
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 15th, 2005, 08:49 AM
Newbie Floating Down The Mistic River
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Also if they are one day auctions they are likely to be frauds
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.1.0
This image is the bottom of the content box. Unfortunately, there is no information-based reason for this div to be here. It's just here for design reasons. Sorry.